Online Research

MAGNOLIA provides Mississippi residents with access to electronic databases through their local public, school, community college, or university libraries. MAGNOLIA is funded by the Mississippi Legislature and partially funded by the Library Services and Technology Act administered by the Mississippi Library Commission.

In MAGNOLIA, you can do all types of research using Mississippi's statewide collection of online databases.  These include professional articles on all subjects, perfect for your school or college research projects. Includes Academic Search Premier, EBSCO, NoveList, Kids’ Search, Credo Reference, and lots more!

Mississippi Encyclopedia Online The Mississippi Encyclopedia Online  allows the editors and authors to keep up with Mississippians as they write new books, make new music, pass new laws, move into and out of the state, and modify their views. The online encyclopedia updates a number of entries, with material about new books, prizes, elections, deaths, and many other topics. It adds numerous bibliographic references and new illustrations.


Legal Forms

Gale LegalForms - Take the law into your own hands and create accurate, reliable legal documents with no hassle with Gale LegalForms. It offers Mississippi specific “attorney forms” – officially approved forms actually used by law firms. Many of the forms and documents are available in Word and Adobe format so you just need to simply “fill in the blanks.”

 

Cars

Chilton Library - ChiltonLibrary provides access to repair, maintenance and service information on the most popular cars, trucks, vans and SUVs on the road today, as well as, many new vehicles. This continuously updated resource provides step-by-step repair procedures, troubleshooting guides, diagnostic trouble codes, photos, illustrations, diagrams, and multimedia (videos and animations) to simplify even the most complicated tasks.

 

Library Card-Holders Only

With your Hancock County Library System (HCLS) library card, you can access the following subscription online research resources for free! Enter ALL 14 digits of the number on the back of your library card, then your 4-digit PIN number. If you don’t know your PIN, stop by the library desk and our staff can look it up for you.

ancestry-library.jpg

Ancestry Library can only be used inside the libraries. Click the link on the desktop on any public computer. Search for your ancestors!

Sun-Herald Historical Newspapers can only be used inside the libraries.


Local Information

Hancock County Historical Society offers vital records, information on local structures, and a large photo gallery.

Local writer Russell Guerin hosts an extensive database on Hancock County pioneers, pirates, families held as slaves, and other local history.